Special Duties

The Special Duties Department is responsible for management and supervision of the reporting Units under the Office of the Permanent Secretary. The Department has staff strength of 351, comprising a Director, two Deputy Directors at the Headquarters; four Heads of Units and Nine (9) States Coordinators.


The Department is made up of the following Units:

(i) State Offices Coordination Unit (SOCU);

(ii) Public Private Partnership (PPP);

(iii) Travel and Protocol; (iv) Stock Verification; and

(v) Anti-Corruption and Transparency Unit (ACTU);


The functions assigned to the Department by the Office of the Head of Civil Service of the Federation via circular no. HCSF/CMO/EM/243/17 of 11th March, 2014 are as follows:

(i) Managing and supervising the direct reporting Units in the Office of the Permanent Secretary;

(ii) Assisting the Permanent Secretary, as required to formulate, articulate and coordinate his/her leadership agenda for the Ministry;

(iii) Scheduling all Staff meetings and briefings involving the Permanent Secretary; (iv) Providing Secretariat services to high-level meetings of the Permanent Secretary; and

(v) Representing the Permanent Secretary in certain functions.

The Department equally undertakes the following duties:

(i) Handling the execution of Constituency/MDG Projects.

(ii) Liaison with the National Assembly.

(iii) Supervision of the Nine (9) State Liaison Offices of the Ministry.

Functions of the Units supervised by the Department

State Offices Coordination Unit:

Created to coordinate the activities of the State Liaison Offices in the nine (9) States of the Niger Delta Region, namely; Abia, Akwa-Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross River, Delta, Edo, Imo, Ondo and Rivers.

The Functions of the State Offices: The functions of the State Offices are as follows:

(i) Overseeing all activities of the Ministry in the State;

(ii) Liaising with host communities for the enhancement of the welfare of the people;

(iii) Responsible for the Community relations activities;

(iv) Coordinating human capacity development as well as the Ministry’s Departments in the execution of policies, programmes and projects;

(v) Gathering of basic information for planning purposes; and

(vi) Administrative management of the State Offices and maintenance of account among other functions.

Public Private Partnership (PPP) Unit:

The establishment of the Public Private Partnership (PPP) Unit was informed by the need to partner with the private sector to:

(i) Effectively mobilize private sector resources for national development;

(ii) Serves to engender service delivery;

(iii) Faster and reduction in the costs of project execution, thereby enabling the Country to fast-track her infrastructural development; and

(iv) Meet Millennium Development Goals and realize Vision 20:20:20.

Travel and Protocol Unit: The Travel and Protocol Unit is established to:

(i) Facilitate the travels and tours of the Hon. Minister, Permanent Secretary and management staff of the Ministry.

(ii) Provide effective and efficient protocol services both at headquarters State offices.

Anti-Corruption and Transparency Monitoring Unit (ACTU):

The unit was established as an instrument to effectively fight corruption on a sustainable basis in the Public Service.

(i) It has its mandate from ICPC; and

(ii) It has been reconstituted and inaugurated for effectiveness in the Ministry.

Stock Verification Unit (SVU):

The SVU is primarily set up as internal check and watchdog of Government Store. It functions include the following:

(i) Pre-Verification.

(ii) Post Verification

(iii) Inventory of Equipment

(iv) Stock Verification Report

Departmental Projects

The Department has the following projects:

(i) Niger Delta Project Implementation Liaison Offices/facilitation of communication strategy;

(ii) Installation of New P.A.S.S Security Gadgets in the Nine (9) States of the Niger Delta;

(iii) Consultancy services on Survey of Nine (9) Sites of Niger Delta Region;

(iv) Operations Manual for the State Offices; and

(v) Rents for six State Liaison Offices namely: Abia, Bayelsa, Edo, Delta Imo, Ondo and Rivers are due for payment on 30th June, 2015 while Akwa Ibom and Cross Rivers expire on 30th November, 2015.

Our Address

11th Floor Federal Secretariat, 
Central Business District
FCT Abuja, Nigeria. 
Proc. Contact: +234 7058477506 
F&A Contact:   +234 7056234357 
IDD Contact:   +234 7058486636 
EMD Contact:  +234 7058480245
HUD Contact:  +234 7058482154 
CDE Contact:   +234 7058479498 
EED Contact:   +234 7058481905
E-mail: dprs@nigerdelta.gov.ng 
E-mail: hrm@nigerdelta.gov.ng



(Agence Ecofin) - Au Nigeria, le groupe de militants armés du Delta du Niger vient officiellement de porter son sou… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…


Download Freewww.bigtheme.net/joomla Joomla Templates Responsive